ISW constists of three academic department which are Department of Social Work, Department of Human Resources and Department of Labour Studies. Other departments include Library, Links Unit and Research and Consultancy Unit.


The main purposes of Human Resource Management training programmes are:-

1. To equip human resource managers with up to date knowledge and skills to enable them improve organizational performance.

2. To raise the level of their understanding on critical issues in organizational behavior and human resource management

3. Develop intellectual skills and management competencies required for effective human resource management practices.



Labour Studies Department is one of three academic department of Institute of Social Work (ISW) designated to perform specific roles in realizing the Institute’s main functions of training, research and consultancy. It was established in 1982 in exercising provisions of the Institute’s establishment Act No 26 of 1973. In 1982 the department introduced a one year Certificate Course in Labour Studies, followed by a three years Advanced Diploma in Labour Studies in 1990, and Postgraduate Diploma in Law Mediation and Arbitration in 2004.


The department of Labour Studies have different operations as summarized below:-

1. Training Courses

2. Research Works

3. Consultancy


The Department of Social Work trains social workers who can work direct or indirect as generic practitioners in communities and in various social welfare agencies including public, private, voluntary and non-governmental organizations. It is also envisaged that this training will produce both proactive and reactive social workers who can effectively respond to the newly emerging social problems in the contemporary societies. Through its various curricula the department also expects to produce graduates who can create their own self-employment capable of responding to societal needs.

Department of social work at ISW offers the following courses in Social Work: Basic Technician Certificate in Social Work (NTA Level 4), Ordinary Diploma in Social Work (NTA Levels 5 and 6), Bachelor Degree in Social Work (NTA Levels 7 and 8) and Postgraduate Diploma in Social Work.

For more details about course offered by department of social work, please check Course and Programes  or ISW Prospectus 2011-2013.


About ISW

  • Graduation Ceremony
  • Conferences
  • Institute's Almanac
  •   Gallery