Board of Governors

According to Part III, sections 5(1) and 5(2) of the National Social Welfare Training Institute Act No. 26 of 1973 (as amended by the Miscellaneous Act No. 13 of 2002), the Board of Governors is the supreme decision making organ of the Institute. The current Board of Governors is composed of eleven (11) members appointed by the Minister of Health, Community Development, Gender Elderly and Children, with a Chairperson who is appointed by the President. The list of current members of the Board is as presented in Table 1.1.

Table 1.1: Members of the Board of Governors

S/N Name Institution Status
1 Prof. Lucian A. Msambichaka University of Dar es Salaam Chairperson
2 Prof. Tumsifu Nnkya Ministry of Lands and Human Settlement Vice Chairperson
3 Dr. Zena Mabeyo Institute of Social Work Secretary
4 Prof. Godwin Mjema University of Dar es Salaam Member
5 Dr. Herman O. Moshi Private Sector Member
6 Dr. Joyce Nyoni University of Dar es Salaam Member
7 Eng. Leoni Msimbe Former Director – Community Development Member
8 Ms. Monica A. Nkhoma National Council for technical Education Member
9 Mr. Sauli Kinemela Private Advocate Member
10 Dr. Naftali Ng'ondi Commissioner of Social Welfare Member
11 ISWOSO president Institute of Social Work Member


Click here to view the Institute Organisation Structure

About ISW

  • Graduation Ceremony
  • Conferences
  • Institute's Almanac
  •   Gallery