Board of Governors

According to Part III, sections 5(1) and 5(2) of the National Social Welfare Training Institute Act No. 26 of 1973 (as amended by the Miscellaneous Act No. 13 of 2002), the Board of Governors is the supreme decision making organ of the Institute. The current Board of Governors is composed of eleven (11) members appointed by the Minister of Health, Community Development, Gender Elderly and Children, with a Chairperson who is appointed by the President. The list of current members of the Board is as presented in Table 1.1.

Table 1.1: Members of the Board of Governors

1Prof. Lucian A. MsambichakaUniversity of Dar es SalaamChairperson
2Prof. Tumsifu NnkyaMinistry of Lands and Human SettlementVice Chairperson
3Dr. Zena Mnasi MabeyoInstitute of Social WorkSecretary
4Prof. Godwin MjemaUniversity of Dar es SalaamMember
5Dr. Herman O. MoshiPrivate SectorMember
6Dr. Joyce NyoniUniversity of Dar es SalaamMember
7Eng. Leoni MsimbeFormer Director – Community DevelopmentMember
8Ms. Monica A. NkhomaNational Council for technical EducationMember
9Mr. Sauli KinemelaPrivate AdvocateMember
10Dr. Naftali Ng'ondiCommissioner of Social WelfareMember
11ISWOSO presidentInstitute of Social WorkMember

Institute Organisation Structure

Prof. Lucian A. Msambichaka


Prof. Tumsifu Nnkya

Vice Chairperson

Dr. Zena Mnasi Mabeyo


Prof. Godwin Mjema


Dr. Herman O. Moshi


Dr. Joyce Nyoni


Eng. Leoni Msimbe


Ms. Monica A. Nkhoma


Mr. Sauli Kinemela


Dr. Naftali Ng'ondi


ISWOSO president