Board of Governors

According to Part III, sections 5(1) and 5(2) of the Institute of Social Work Act no.26 of 1973 [Cap 110 R.E 2002] as amended by the Written Laws (Miscellaneous Amendments) Act No. 03 of 2002. The Board of Governors is the supreme decision making organ of the Institute. The current Board of Governors is composed of ten (10) members appointed by the Minister for Ministry of Health, Community Development, Gender, Elderly and Children, and the Chairperson who is an appointee of the President. The list of current members of the Board is as presented in Table 1.1.

Table 1.1: Members of the Board of Governors

1Hon. Sophia Simba Chairperson
2Mrs. Reginal L. LikuliFormer Deputy Permanent Secretary Ministry of Finance and Planning Vice Chairperson
3Dr. Naftali Ng'ondi Commissioner of Social welfare Minister for Ministry of Health, Community Development, Gender, Elderly and Children Member
4Dr. Joyce Elzear NyoniRector - Institute of Social WorkSecretary
5Dr. Theresia J. KaijageHead of social Work Department ( Retired) Herbert Kairuki - Memorial University Member
6Dr. Rose I. MbweteLecturer Mwalimu Nyerere Memorial CollegeMember
7Fidelice M.S. MafumikoChief Government Chemist/CEO Government Chemist Laboratory AuthorityMember
8Ms. Agnes Ivory NdumbatiPrincipal Parliamentary draftsman Attorney General's officeMember
9Dr. Adolf Babiligi RutayugaExecutive Secretary National Council for Technical Education (NACTE)Member
10Mr. Andrew Kirumbi Institute of social Work Student's Government President(ISWOSO)Member

Institute Organisation Structure